Your time is Your Life-Your Life is Your Wealth

Emotional Responses

Brotherly Love

My wife’s aunt (AM) is no longer gravely ill. She died this morning, just a couple of days past her 90th birthday. Joy took it pretty hard, since they were very close. I met AM more than 10 years ago, but got to know her better since we moved out here to the west coast in 2008. I really enjoyed her. She was very active until just a few months ago.

We went over to AM’s house, where she died, to lend support to Joy’s cousins. The funeral home had not yet picked up her body, so we had a chance to see her.  I wasn’t feeling too emotional. My compartmentalizing was working pretty well, until I approached her body to pay my respects. I touched her on the forehead and experienced a wave of emotion. I can’t explain why I was gripped by feeling, or even what the feeling was. It was…

View original post 215 more words

Leave a Reply

